Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Shalimar Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Marigold Center

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Shalimar Restaurant and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Connie about 1 month ago

Shrimp Tikka

Shrimp done perfectly with spicy flavor

Muzammilsyed7 about 1 month ago

Chicken Biryani

It was really awesome

Saadicherl about 2 months ago

Bhindi

Delicious dish

Aaronpcartwright about 2 months ago

Indian Chai Tea Hot or Iced

The iced chai tea here is wonderful, with rich spices that blend with the cold milk to refresh yourself while eating a savory and spicy meal! Always a great treat to have, even on it's own 😁.

Bmedwards37 about 2 months ago

Butter Chicken

Best butter chicken I've ever had, it's so creamy, tender, and flavorful. I've been ordering this weekly lately. Prices are good too, just remember it doesn't come with rice!

Trsrachelf about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

This is delicious!! The best chicken tikka masala I've ever had. Make sure to have it with the garlic naan... absolutely delicious

Lindsayroman about 2 months ago

Vegetable Korma

The food at Shalimar is my favorite. It's my comfort food, it's what I crave at the end of a long day. It's my happy food, it's what I want to eat when I celebrate. It's what I want on my birthday. Have you heard the expression "made with love"? You can taste the love in every bite of every meal at Shalimar. Their food feeds more than my stomach, it feeds my heart and stay with me...it feeds my soul. San Luis Obispo would not be the same without this restaurant. Needless to say, I love Shalimar.

Joannaperney 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka

Not having to drive to the big city to get that "big city" Indian QUALITY is so amazing. We love this family run restaurant. The service and food has always been wonderful. When ever we need a Naan and special sauce fix, Shalimar is where we go~

Bob 2 months ago

Chicken Vindaloo

One of my favorites!

Sta1eymcc 2 months ago

Butter Chicken

So tasty, and the friendliest staff ever!

James 3 months ago

Achar

Love the strength of this tangy sweet flavor.

James 3 months ago

Mutter Paneer

This was a treasure of a dish. If I had been eating peas like this since birth I'd probably be having an easier time in my transition to being vegan. So full of flavor and absolutely free of any heavy oil as you'd normally think of with super flavorful pea dishes. This is truly great.

Heavyhiking01 3 months ago

Lamb Vindaloo

Absolutely delicious! I prefer spicy and this dish provides the heat accompanied by flavor. A must for spice lovers.

Jmervinjr 3 months ago

Turnip Masala

There are so many delicious dishes at Shalimar it is difficult for me to pick just one. If I have to narrow it down I would start with the turnip masala. The balance of flavors from the turnips through the spices is incredible. The turnip masala goes wonderfully with many of the other dishes or it can be enjoyed all on its own. I look forward to every time I get to dine at Shalimar and I recommend the turnip masala next time you stop in too.

Dustin 3 months ago

Egg Biryani

Love this rice dish paired with Aloo Gobi on the hot buffet bar. It's got veggies and a nice light oil that's not too heavy.

Kellyamorris55 3 months ago

Chana Samosa Chat

Every dish I've tasted in Shalimar's menu has been delicious, but the chana samosa chat is a favorite. The samosa is flaky, the filling and garbanzo bean sauce are savory and flavorful, and the fresh onions and cilantro add the right crunch and complementary taste.

Miles 3 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

I love Indian food and in my opinion Chicken Tikka Masala is one of the most important dishes to get right at an Indian restaurant, and Shalimar does not disappoint! The spices they use are awesome and each piece of chicken is cooked to perfection. I will be back for more of your delicious chicken.

Tara 3 months ago

Chana Masala

Shalimar has the best cuisine and atmosphere, we order once every 2 weeks - it's so good! It would be an every day meal if we could ;) The Vegan menu is perfect for my dietary needs and is a full meal, pretty substantial portions!

Michaelsilveryoga 4 months ago

Aloo Mutter

I've tried many of the vegan (and gluten-free!) dishes, and i'm never disappointed! This is my go to place for Indian food in SLO! Options and consideration for my dietary needs, and also SO tasty! Truly awesome food :-)

Lauren 4 months ago

Chicken Korma

Chick korma is a delicious dish - one of my favorites, along with chicken tikka masala, mushroom masala, onion kulcha and others. Haven't found a dish I didn't like so far. And the family who owns and runs Shalimar are friendly and community-minded. I like to support them, especially in this time of Covid-19

Lchlebek12 about 1 month ago

Karahi Chicken

This was our first time here and we will definitely be back. We absolutely loved all our food and service. The seasoning and food quality can not be better

Mirza about 2 months ago

Lamb Seekh Kabab

Delicious with naan

Francisco about 2 months ago

Aloo Gobi

Best Indian food in the central coast, friendly staff and clean restaurant I drive from Santa Maria to have a meal in shalimar I highly recommend this restaurant......btw try the samosas so DELICIOUS and mango lassi

1138kathryn about 2 months ago

Turnip Masala

We stepped outside of our comfort zone tonight and tried a new dish, and I am glad we did. The turnips were tender and the spices where flavorful but not too spicy.

Picard1595 about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Easily the best Indian food in SLO. There Chicken Tikka Masala is perfection but you could say that about pretty much every dish they make. They are so kind and remember my usual order every time, I love coming here and there new location is so spacious and calming. I always look forward to my next visit! -Nathan

Thekwcombo about 2 months ago

Lamb Korma

!!!!! SIMPLY SCRUMPTIOUS !!!! Truly no other word can describe the rich complex flavors in this, my FAVORITE Indian dish. To have the finest Indian cuisine in SLO with COVID SAFE outdoor dining on beautiful patio.....LIFE IS WONDERFUL again!!!! THANK YOU SHALIMAR!!! Kate W

Msrrkovach 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Absolutely decadent!!

Lckcblkbelt 2 months ago

Lamb Biryani

I had the Lamb Biryani and didn't regret it! The lamb was tender and flavorful; the rice was soft and spiced just right. The portion was good enough that I could have split it, but I'm looking forward to the leftovers so I'm thankful that I didn't.

Ali 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

We just had the Chicken Tikka Masala tonight; it tastes really good. I love the spices that come with the food. The owners are friendly and welcoming.

Proutyjc 2 months ago

Chana Masala

It was 10/10 meal, tasted amazing and I get it every single time. It's definitely my favorite dish, one of my most favorite places to eat at as well.

James 3 months ago

Dal Makhani

Dal Makhani is bar none the best veg dish you could ever hope for

Jskoman 3 months ago

Dal Makhani

Loved the spice of this particular dal! Unexpectedly, but pleasingly hot. Excellent with over basmati rice.

Moliver214 3 months ago

Aloo Gobi

Ok!!! This is by far the most addictive Indian food anywhere in town! Not only is the food fantastic but the service and attention to detail is great. The only thing I wish is that I could eat there every day!

Dustin 3 months ago

Gulab Jaman

These milk balls are like the best mini donuts you've ever had! The rose syrup makes it sweet and slightly floral. I absolutely love these.

Dustin 3 months ago

Aloo Gobi

Aloo Gobi is my go to order because it's so rich and hearty. The seasoning is a perfect savory taste that makes the cauliflower and potatoes standout. Pair it with naan for an awesome meal.

Chandrahoelsken 3 months ago

Aloo Gobi

This food has been my comfort food during shelter-in.

Connie 3 months ago

Vegetable Manchurian

It's so spicy, tasty and delicious, We get it every time, sometimes as an entree. The shrimp tikka, raita and pappadam are also real winners.

George 4 months ago

Chicken Biryani

The chicken biryani, and all of the other biryani options (I've had them all) are absolutely fabulous. The Shalimar folks know what they're doing, and this dish is spectacular. I became a fan on the first bite and have now been ordering it weekly or so for several years. It is really, really good. I had no idea that spiced rice could be such a fantastic main dish. Note that the serving size is very large and will last for several meals if you eat it with anything else

Arleneksherman 4 months ago

Mango Lassi

Well, EVERYTHING on the menu is excellent! If I could, I would eat there every week. All the food is great. My go-to favorites are deep fried cauliflower, basmati rice, chicken tikka masala, any vegetable side dish, naan, and mango chutney. When I can, I treat myself with a Mango Lassi at Shalimar and nowhere else. Can't wait for my next visit!

Matteo 4 months ago

Chana Masala

The food here is so good! The owners are great as well. Love going here for the buffet and so many vegan/vegetarian options.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA