Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Shalimar Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Tinajoorban 5 days ago

Chana Masala

OMG! This Chana Masala has got to be one of the best we have ever tried. The texture perfected; the twist fresh slim "matchsticks' slices of ginger. So refreshing! The chicken vindaloo delicious and customizable by heat and spice.

Magnusson000 10 days ago

Vegetable Manchurian

Wonderfully spicy and flavorful - Favorite item on Menu

Cawolfguy 12 days ago

Chicken"65"

WOW!!! I cannot even believe that I missed this item on our many trips to Shalimar. Although we love just about every dish that we have tried, on our most recent to-go order, we decided to add this dish to our list of 'regular' dishes, such as Aloo Gobi and others. Having read previous reviews of this dish on Yelp, and having tried the dish for ourselves, I'm not really sure what the complaining was about...perhaps they had other expectations. Chicken "65" (wondering about the name) is a fantastical dish of well-cooked dark meat chicken with a glorious spicy mix of ginger, garlic and onions. This dish is very similar to Orange Chicken from a Chinese place, texture-wise, but way better flavors. This was the first time we had ever gotten Shailimar to-go, as it is our custom to either have the buffet or regular dinnertime menus. Due to the 'quarantine', I drove all the way up from Nipomo (because this place is worth it), and although I arrived about 15 minutes before opening, "The Boss" let me in to order and pay. This is now going to be our regular, once-a-week quarantine go-to place. Looking forward to dining in again, in the not too distant future!! Be well!

Sarah 13 days ago

Butter Chicken

It was so delicious! Very rich and creamy with just the right amount of spice. The medium hot was not very hot however.

Iandamgz 14 days ago

Paneer Tikka Masala

The paneer cheese normally tastes like nothing, which it should because its Paneer, but combined with the Tikka Masala brings it a lot of flavor. This wasnt the only thing I tried, but the Paneer was made nicely, and wasnt too soft or chewy. The Tikka Masala was nice and creamy, and gave a good texture, whilst also having an amazing flavor. I dont know if its because of the chicken but compared to the chicken Tikka Masala, it tastes a bit different, but still a great item to try.

Erik 19 days ago

Shrimp Korma

This dish is super flavorful and decadent. We tried it with the Peshawari (nut and raisin naan)- the sweetness paired well with the rich korma sauce. Never disappointed when we visit, and the Owners are very friendly and accommodating!

Even 20 days ago

Chicken Biryani

Although everything here is good, the chicken biryani is my go-to. And it's large enough to split with someone else!

Christian 25 days ago

Aloo Gobi

It's hard to pick just one favorite dish,but the Aloo Gobi is fantastic. The potatoes are soft, dish is savory, and it compliments so well with any of the curries and of course naan! Can't get enough.

Amandamichellelake 27 days ago

Malai Kofta

I am not vegetarian but these were recommended and I am so glad that u tried them. Super creamy and flavorful. Also filling and I would totally order this dish again.

Davidzgeorge about 1 month ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

We love Shalimar! The food is always flavorful, hot and delicious. The staff is very friendly and always takes care of us. We highly recommend it! Favorites are chicken or paneer tikka masala, paneer pakora, and veggie samosas.

Tdneal about 1 month ago

Mushroom Masala

A decadent and savory sauce with mushrooms that are cooked to perfection. This dish along with steamed Basmati rice and delicious naan is my go to, on days when I need a quick pick me up.

Karlcbell about 1 month ago

Malai Kofta

Creamy, spicy, and just a little sweet. Perfect!

Lajelks about 2 months ago

Palak (Saag)

So delicious!! I love your Palak more than any other restaurant. So creamy and fresh. It goes so well with the naan. I can't wait to get more!!!

Armanterrell7947 about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Shalimar has HANDS DOWN THE BEST CHICKEN TIKKA MASALA in California. I have been to may places but I call this restaurant my home. The lunch buffet is your best bet to try different menu items. It's so affordable that I feel I am robbing them! Seriously, go eat here. The best place to get Indian food in California.

Dnarroyo04 about 2 months ago

Butter Chicken

Delicious, creamy, flavorful. Can't beat the butter chicken here! It is a must have every time we go here. Paired with their naan. You can't go wrong. Soooo good.

Wunderlich about 2 months ago

Carrot Halwa

Nowhere else can you get this. It's so good. Went to shalimar with my in-laws and we went back for seconds. We tried a little of everything at the buffet, but the carrot halwa with a cup of tea, perfection!

Amyjblasco about 2 months ago

Bhindi

I am obsessed with their Bindi!! I'm normally not a fan of okra, but I love the spices they use and the way they sautee the veggies. It's not slimy at all. It's fresh with a little bit of a crunch and so flavorful. If you're looking for something new to try, I highly recommend it!

E 2 months ago

Chicken Biryani

The food and service here are amazing, the Monday special is the best deal on the central coast! We have been coming here for more than 12 years and it's always consistently great.

Aliciaroufosse 2 months ago

Butter Chicken

We tried the butter chicken last night and it was AMAZING! so sweet, yet savory at the same time..a perfect combo. We will definitely​ be coming back for more!

Amy27b 2 months ago

Garlic Naan

Shalimar makes the best naan. We love to scoop up the sauce from all the other dishes with it. It's very thin and flexible.

Leslie 10 days ago

Vegetable Korma

My favorite dish on the menu! It's mildly spiced, extremely flavorful, and always hits the spot! I could eat this paired with jasmine rice and naan all day everyday and be a happy camper :)

Bloomdiva 11 days ago

Vegetable Pakora

Shalimar has been my long-standing favorite for years - anything we order is absolutely great. The Pakora's are one of my favorite things - can't get enough. This family owned and run business is a wonderful example of how things run well. Lovely people, serving great food. Thanks Shalimar!!

Vettemom123 13 days ago

Lamb Vindaloo

Love, love, love ALL the food at Shalimar. I'm partial to Chicken Tikka Masala and Nan, my husband loves the Lamb Vindaloo and Palak Paneer. EVERYTHING is fabulous - you will never be disappointed with their food. Best Indian food we have ever had!!

Madisondrake 14 days ago

Tandoori Chicken

WOW can not say enough about this food. I am from Chicago my favorite Indian Food India House... Never thought in California I would find a place that equals their food. I have tried many places from Central Coast to Palo Alto, this is the best I have had.

Me 14 days ago

Lentil Soup

This is a great addition to any meal. Perfectly seasoned and all around a cozy flavorful soup.

Ajagoare 19 days ago

Aloo Gobi

This dish is so delicious! It's rich with a complex spice profile and hearty ingredients. The cauliflower and potatoes are cooked to perfection and covered in a great mix of spices. It's very filling and warms the soul.

Aaronlay1017 21 days ago

Chicken Biryani

This was a super flavorful and tasty fried rice dish! Nicely spiced, tons of chicken, plenty of vegetables, and it comes with a nice side of raita to cool your tongue off. And they give a nice serving of it too!

Rice 26 days ago

Butter Chicken

I've loved Shalimars for a long time, the food is great, and the buffets are amazing! And the prices good as well! But what sets Shalimars apart is the service, everyone is super friendly and wants to make sure you have a good time. At one point I was ordering through UberEats, when my driver cancelled the owner drove it to my house himself along with extra food. I will never stop recommending Shalimars to my friends. 10/10

Windy about 1 month ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

I love this spicy along with rice and cheese Naan. This is my favorite food now. I want to eat it as often as possible. This is the best place to eat! Not only is the food amazing so are the people who work at this restaurant!

Ryliezay129 about 1 month ago

Chana Masala

This dish was delicious! A great vegan option & super tasty when eaten with roti. Definitely will get again but will ask for more spice.

Cameronjcarpenter about 1 month ago

Lamb Curry

Simply delicious. The lamb curry is authentic and amazing. 10/10

Micaelawu148 about 1 month ago

Tandoori Chicken

So flavorful... you can see the spices in the sauce too. Chicken wasn't dry even though it was on the buffet line and was kept hot for a while.

Jnzdrcn about 2 months ago

Butter Chicken

My boyfriend and I been here a lot of times , we have been a lot of indian restaurant . This is the best indian restaurant ever. They served tasty and fresh meals. We meet our expections and the staffs are friendly and professional will be back here again and again! Thanks Shalimar!

K about 2 months ago

Chana Masala

So amazing! Had this (on the vegetarian platter) at the Thursday night farmer's market and absolutely loved it. Perfectly spiced and delicious. We are new to the area and will most definitely become regulars at the restaurant.

Erykasantoyo about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

I came here for the first time just today and WOW! The food is so delicious! I had the lunch buffet, but really enjoyed the Chicken Tikka Masala and the Tandoori Chicken! The naan was amazing as well! I cannot believe it took me this long to try Shalimar...I will be back soon and will be telling everyone about this place! Thank you for a wonderful lunch!

Debbielrudd about 2 months ago

Chicken Curry

Shalimar's gluten-free menu and especially your gluten-free naan is amazing! It is such a treat to be able to order from such an array of GF options and to even have GF naan to go with the amazing dishes. Thank you!

Mollyannemaher 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Love Shalimar's food! We always get mild chicken tikka masala and then try other dishes too. Very tasty and not too spicy.

Ankeeney 2 months ago

Saag

The saag is delicious! I get it every time I come in.

Amy27b 2 months ago

Basmati Rice

The basmati rice does not stick together at all and is perfectly tender. It comes with some peas on top and little tiny spice seeds of some sort. It's really delicate.

Amy27b 2 months ago

Lamb Vindaloo

Great flavor and texture to the meat. The potatoes are giant in it.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA