Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Shalimar Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Jmervinjr 7 days ago

Turnip Masala

There are so many delicious dishes at Shalimar it is difficult for me to pick just one. If I have to narrow it down I would start with the turnip masala. The balance of flavors from the turnips through the spices is incredible. The turnip masala goes wonderfully with many of the other dishes or it can be enjoyed all on its own. I look forward to every time I get to dine at Shalimar and I recommend the turnip masala next time you stop in too.

Dustin 12 days ago

Egg Biryani

Love this rice dish paired with Aloo Gobi on the hot buffet bar. It's got veggies and a nice light oil that's not too heavy.

Kellyamorris55 13 days ago

Chana Samosa Chat

Every dish I've tasted in Shalimar's menu has been delicious, but the chana samosa chat is a favorite. The samosa is flaky, the filling and garbanzo bean sauce are savory and flavorful, and the fresh onions and cilantro add the right crunch and complementary taste.

Miles 20 days ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

I love Indian food and in my opinion Chicken Tikka Masala is one of the most important dishes to get right at an Indian restaurant, and Shalimar does not disappoint! The spices they use are awesome and each piece of chicken is cooked to perfection. I will be back for more of your delicious chicken.

Tara 23 days ago

Chana Masala

Shalimar has the best cuisine and atmosphere, we order once every 2 weeks - it's so good! It would be an every day meal if we could ;) The Vegan menu is perfect for my dietary needs and is a full meal, pretty substantial portions!

Arleneksherman 29 days ago

Mango Lassi

Well, EVERYTHING on the menu is excellent! If I could, I would eat there every week. All the food is great. My go-to favorites are deep fried cauliflower, basmati rice, chicken tikka masala, any vegetable side dish, naan, and mango chutney. When I can, I treat myself with a Mango Lassi at Shalimar and nowhere else. Can't wait for my next visit!

Matteo about 1 month ago

Chana Masala

The food here is so good! The owners are great as well. Love going here for the buffet and so many vegan/vegetarian options.

Demitriacastanon about 1 month ago

Butter Chicken

The chicken was soooo good! I've tried making this dish at home and it just doesn't compare to how they make it. 10/10 would order!

Ericka about 1 month ago

Tandoori Chicken

It is just so amazing good, never dry and perfectly seasoned!!

Karin about 1 month ago

Chicken Korma

We had a craving for Indian Food and were not sure where to order.... this restaurant was recommended and we had the most delicious experience. Vegetable Samosas, Tandoori Chicken Palak Saag, Chicken Korma, Lamb Curry and Mango Chutney , Achar, Raita. EVERYTHING was so delicious and satisfying to us. We ordered the Sides Mango Chutney, Achar and Raita and were not sure what to expect but the price at only $2 was ... intriguing! We were surprised as it was a lot of sauce and the taste and aroma was unbelievable (had some left for my lunch next day). All in one.. the Service during Covid19 was really excellent and i felt safe and food was packaged and cooked to perfection. If you have that special craving for something delicious and want to treat your self or make that Wednesday take out something out of the ordinary...come and order here.... it is really soooo so good.! A SLO Family of 4 :)

Justinwaller about 1 month ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Shalimar makes the best chicken tikka masala in SLO County! The chicken is always tender and the sauce is so creamy! Also, the servers and management are very nice and consistently maintain a quick and friendly service. I especially enjoy the warm, friendly greeting I get every time I walk through their door. Keep up the great work guys!

Rachelmcarducci about 2 months ago

Vegetable Korma

The friendliest staff and the tastiest food! They always treat us like family. My 3 year old son loves the vegetable Korma, it's a dish that's mild enough for anyone but is flavorful.

Thompson about 2 months ago

Vegetable Korma

The vegetable korma at Shalimar does not disappoint! The dish is a lovely golden marigold color, evenly spiced, with perfectly balanced creaminess. The assortment of vegetables is also generous, and the dish is a tasty, comforting addition to any spread. Definitely recommend!

Kozar about 2 months ago

Lamb Boti Masala

The Lamb Boti Masala is to die for... I can't recommend it enough! (If you're a fan of spice, don't hesitate to ask for it medium or spicy.) If you're looking for an appetizer, the Lamb Samosas are fantastic... and when it comes down to the Naan, you can never go wrong with Garlic!

Jakeanator12 about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

This is the best chicken tikka masala in San Luis Obispo county

Kennetdavis 2 months ago

Palak (Saag)

Sub ko Salam. My wife and I are here on vacation from Pakistan. The Kim family was raving about Shalimar Indian/Pak food. We know good Pakistani food and this restaurant does a wonderful job incorporating the authenticity of East Asian cuisine with a "Western" touch. The food is not unbearably spicy, overly salty, and swimming in oil. The food was perfect and enjoyable for us. I give this restaurant Panch (Five) thumbs up. Khuda hafiz.

Daviniapalmer 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Must have! The chicken is moist and flavorful and the sauce is so-oo good!

Rxploumpis 2 months ago

Vegetable Korma

Absolutely one of the best dishes I've ever had in my life, Indian food or not. I wake up thinking about it sometimes.

Ssirena86 2 months ago

Mushroom Masala

The best, tender,flavorful and above all else authentic. If you want great vegetarian options look no further than Shalimar!!! Lets not forget to mention the high quality samosas

Hayle 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Oh boy... literally everything on their menu is unreal. My favorite has to be the Chicken Tikka Masala. The flavor is insane! Not only is it the best Indian Cuisine I've ever had, but you just can't beat their prices either! I also can't forget to mention their impeccable customer service, best in SLO,Ca by far. I love supporting this family owned, ran and local restaurant! They will always have my business!

Dustin 12 days ago

Gulab Jaman

These milk balls are like the best mini donuts you've ever had! The rose syrup makes it sweet and slightly floral. I absolutely love these.

Dustin 12 days ago

Aloo Gobi

Aloo Gobi is my go to order because it's so rich and hearty. The seasoning is a perfect savory taste that makes the cauliflower and potatoes standout. Pair it with naan for an awesome meal.

Chandrahoelsken 13 days ago

Aloo Gobi

This food has been my comfort food during shelter-in.

Connie 22 days ago

Vegetable Manchurian

It's so spicy, tasty and delicious, We get it every time, sometimes as an entree. The shrimp tikka, raita and pappadam are also real winners.

George 25 days ago

Chicken Biryani

The chicken biryani, and all of the other biryani options (I've had them all) are absolutely fabulous. The Shalimar folks know what they're doing, and this dish is spectacular. I became a fan on the first bite and have now been ordering it weekly or so for several years. It is really, really good. I had no idea that spiced rice could be such a fantastic main dish. Note that the serving size is very large and will last for several meals if you eat it with anything else

Lauren about 1 month ago

Chicken Korma

Chick korma is a delicious dish - one of my favorites, along with chicken tikka masala, mushroom masala, onion kulcha and others. Haven't found a dish I didn't like so far. And the family who owns and runs Shalimar are friendly and community-minded. I like to support them, especially in this time of Covid-19

Lglutz about 1 month ago

Aloo Gobi

I have enjoyed everything I've tried, especially Aloo Goni and Aloo Mutter. The samosas with the sauces are delectable! The people serving and the owners are also a delight to know.

Mandieblazejunk about 1 month ago

Malai Kofta

I absolutely love this dish. The spice level is customizable so it can be enjoyed by everyone.

John about 1 month ago

Palak (Saag)

Shalimar is definitely the best Indian restaurant in SLO. Before Covid 19 dining in was always a pleasure. Service was prompt and efficient and we were always treated as valued customer. Post Covid 19 Shalimar has the best "take away" process of any restaurant that we have picked up food from. I feel safe and know they are taking the steps needed in make sure I stay that way. Rave reviews on their efforts. And i cannot forget to mention - wonderful food. Csan't wait to dine in again!

Terri about 1 month ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

The chick tikka masala was my favorite dish, very savory taste. I love this with the nan bread. The best!!! No one will be disappointed.

Jeflinjoetom about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

The flavors dance on your palate and cause your worries to fade away!

Jackgeise about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

Honestly the best Chicken Tikka Masala you will find in slo county!! Great service AND an awesome environment to eat with family or friends! - cal poly student and Indian food LOVER

Alicia about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka Masala

I eat at many Indian restaurants, and their chicken Tikka Masala never disappoints. The portions are generous and tantalizing. Sometimes I dream of ordering it when I'm particularly hungry. Try it with brown rice, but one order is enough for two people. Raita is a nice compliment to it.

Mauraslo about 2 months ago

Chicken Tikka

My family and I have been dining at Shalimar for years. It is our favorite restaurant. The food is great. The owner and staff are wonderful. It is always a pleasure to eat there. My favorite items are the chicken tikka, the aloo gobi, and the garlic naan. But we have tried many dishes, and all are good. If you do not like spicy food check with the waiter about spiciness. I highly recommend Shalimar.

Gaskarthboo 2 months ago

Lamb Curry

Amazing and delicious! A gem in Slo with affordable and tasty food.

Mirandacbeal 2 months ago

Aloo Gobi

Their food is so good. I get the Aloo Gobi every time. Customer service is one thing I always appreciate here as well.

Sophiaswarren 2 months ago

Vegetable Biryani

The most flavorful and perfectly cooked rice you will ever eat!

Even 2 months ago

Aloo Gobi

So good! I can't believe I didn't try this sooner. Perfect blend of spices and the cauliflower is always just the right texture. Definitely a favorite!

Marimiller63 2 months ago

Butter Chicken

This is my first time trying any type of Indian food, and this dish was SO good. It's perfect with rice, but would also taste really good on some sautéed cauliflower. Great flavors, great dish :)

Cmase1030 2 months ago

Chana Masala

The Vegan Chana Masala is the best that have ever had. I also love the Vegetable Samosa.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

June 2020:
Coming Soon

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA